Japan:: Tokyo eats ~midnight authentic yakitori

Hi everyone!  Friday is always a good day.

A couple of my Hong Kong and Singaporean friends had a trip down to Japan at the same time as I did and it seems like we were all there for the same reasons. Trying to get a glimpse of the Sakura bloom.  As for my friends they went at the right timing, a few days earlier than I did.  For me.. not so timely. But anyhow, I was excided to be there together with my husband, the first time in few years.

We have been traveling back to Japan but it was always in different timing.  When I was there for work, he was in HK and when he was in Tokyo, I was in Singapore.  So our travel timing was always crossed.

So what to do in Tokyo?  Eat and shop!

A lot of my friends ask me for ‘where to go recommendations’ so decided to post my favorite places in Tokyo on my blog!

The first night for dinner I really wanted to go back to this Yakitori place my husband and I always used to go after work. Both of us worked at the same building at Roppongi Hills.  The place that never sleeps!  So this Yakitori place is right across from it.

1651

Very local and authentic good old Yakitori.  (Details of the place at the end of the post)

It only has 1 table and probably about 10-12 counter seats.  We always squeeze in the counter and your neighbors are sitting right next to you.  For some westerners you may feel a bit uncomfortable sitting so close together but this is really the Japanese way of having Yakitori. If you are looking for a good Yakitori place where we locals go to with reasonable price, this is it!

1666 1654

When we used to live in Tokyo, our work hours was hectic.  No work life balance whatsoever.  On Friday nights we would both be exhausted finishing work at around 12am plus.  At this hour, most decent restaurants are closing yet we still want good food plus some healthy ones.

And this is where we always end up in after a long day of work.  Simply because…

  • Very good yakitori with other healthy Japanese food
    Its opened until 1:30am on weekdays!!  Even at 12am you enter the place, it is really lively and gives you energy.
    So reasonable price
    The owner is friendly. haha.

1657

As you can tell, very crowded and that night was packed! The owner noticed us and told us wait a second, they are going to add in some chairs so we can squeeze in.  Wah, the seats were tight. But no one minds because this is what usually happens anyways.

1663

And here we are, back to our favorite place.  I think we ordered:

2 glasses of sake
6 glasses of beer and
probably 35-40 pieces of Yakitori

All was about $150USD

May not be able to tell from the picture but wide range of Yakitori.  Have some organic vege and beer while you wait for it to be served.

16591661

The yakitori was so juicy and nice I forgot to take some pictures except for the one below! Its the Ume shiso maki. Ah. So delish.

1665

I really wanted to order my usual final meal after my yakitori, the

Chicken soup and Yaki Onigiri

But I think I had too much of the yakitori I didn’t have space for them!  But if you ever have the chance to go, have them at the end of the meal.  It is so good and satisfying!

***
Shop name: Roppongi Kushiyaki Ganchan
Tel: +81-3-3478-0092
Address: Tokyo Minatoku Roppongi 6-8-23
Average per person: $40-45 USD (if you don’t drink too much haha)

***

 

2 thoughts on “Japan:: Tokyo eats ~midnight authentic yakitori

  1. I passed by this place last time I was in Tokyo! I was surprised to see that around midnight, it was still crowded:) I’m going to Tokyo in July, and this time, I will not walk by, but go inside and try out that fab-looking food:)

    • That’s so cool! Its so amazing that we both live in a totally different country yet we see the same restaurant in another place!! Definitely worth a try if you like authentic food with a very local feel to the place. 🙂

Leave a Reply

