Japan:: Tokyo eats ~the michelin star kaiseki

Hi Everyone!  I really need to catch up more on posting my remaining Tokyo travel before I move on to my Hong Kong post.

I was really debating whether to post this favorite restaurant of mine.

The fact that it is not an easy access and you may need to take a cab to get there.  And probably when you make a booking, the staff at the restaurant will not be able to understand English.  Yes, that is the problem with most restaurants in Japan.  They don’t speak English.  I know… we are so not international!  So if you need to book somewhere, you may want to ask your hotel concierge to do this.  Or shall I start a travel agent/ coordinator to do this?  ha-ha.

I come here for really special occasions.  It is impossible to get a booking last minute so need to plan way, WAY ahead.  I love it because it is located in a very quiet neighborhood, Tokyo suburbs, where you may not even notice the place and might just pass by if you are not paying attention.

The most important thing to let you know is that they ONLY ACCEPT CASH!
And no credit card payment.  So make sure that you bring extra cash with you!

(Details of the place at the end of the post)

I’m a person who is really bad with directions.  Even if I have my Google map on, I would go completely the wrong way.  And this place is so hard to find, so I give you the entrance.

Taxi is probably going to drop you off at the main road. This is the side road on your left.

1090
After going in that side road, you will see this.  Yep, this is the entrance of the restaurant.

1091
Turn left and keep going.  Top of the restaurant is actually an apartment and they’ve used the ground floor as the restaurant.

1092

So this is where I usually get confused.. like all the time!  Where is the door??
Don’t keep walking after the tree on your left, because you’ll just end up nowhere.  The door is the wooden sliding door and it doesn’t have an entrance mark so watch out!

1095

They only have 5 counter seats and 2 private rooms. The two private rooms have 10 seating in a Japanese style room where you sit on the Tatami. And the other room is for 4 seats with table and chair.

The interior décor is basic white and wood.  Very clean cut style.

1099

1114
1100
Their food is a Japanese traditional Kaiseki.  Very healthy and non-oily.
I love each and every piece of cups and plates that they use.  Very entertaining.  Here is the lunch menu that I had.

11031104

11091106

1107

1111

I think I missed 2 shots of the plates, but the final dessert is a good old Matcha with Red bean Mochi.  Very delicious.

1110

Oh, must not forget.  The toilet is also very white and clean.  Now this is very important for me.  No matter how the food or the restaurant is great,  if the toilet is dirty or not well taken care of… its a No No for me.  I would cross that place out for my “favorite place” list.
1096

Last but not least,  I was also entertained with this toothpick holder.  Steal origami folded crane.  So detailed in entertaining their guests.  From food to utensils and tableware. That is a true Japanese way of welcoming people.

1112

***
Shop name: Seisouka (青草窠
Tel: +81-3-3473-3103
Address: Tokyo, Minato-ku, Minamiazabu, 4-2-34, Tengenji Square 1F
Average per person: $80-100 USD (Lunch)

***

 

 

2 thoughts on “Japan:: Tokyo eats ~the michelin star kaiseki

  1. Hi Shoko! We talk on Instagram all the time about our poodles. I didn’t realize you had a blog. So glad to have found it. I feel like I already know you from Insta, but enjoyed visiting your blog. I am half-Japanese, and grew up in Japan. I have not been back in many years. I still speak fluent Japanese though! Cannot read/write, but I am studying katakana/hiragana now!

    • Hi!! Thank you so much for stopping by my blog. Same here, it seems like I know you already! Wow, you grew up in Japan. Its great that you have still kept your Japanese because I know it is hard to do that unless you frequently use it. Some of my Half Japanese friends totally lost their Japanese. Hiragana and Katakana is a bit difficult. Good luck and hope you enjoy studying!

Leave a Reply

