food art japanese

Hi everyone!  I hope you are all having a great week so far.

I haven’t been back in Tokyo for 3 months now and this is making a record as I have been back every now and then since I moved out of Japan.  When I miss home, I start to cook more Japanese food and especially use my Japanese plates.

I am loving these Japanese plates I brought back from Japan.  This is passed on from my grandmother and it’s at its 3rd generation. Many different kinds of shape which makes the food presentation unique.

0124f2b96a8313ac06624f3f9f1f2e12b71e8ae9d0_00001

 

In my previous post, I wrote about ‘defining your own style‘ and how my choice of style has changed over the years.  I can say that this is also the same for ‘food’.  In my 20’s, food was just something to fill my stomach and I would eat fried stuff, lots of cheese and pasta.  Now in my 30’s, I like to know what I am eating and how I am eating.  Okay, so what does ‘how I am eating’ mean..

I like to cook and choose my own ingredients.  Most importantly think of how I would like to present these food.

I love to think of which plates to place the food and what plate combination.   Same for fashion.  How do I want to style my clothes is the same as how I want to style the food I made.

01bc3f4c853aca62abe025c41a8c7869c59e3f4755_00001

Now that Singapore has only one season,  I like to use these Japanese traditional plates to feel the four seasons I miss.  In the Summer time, I would use glassware, blue and white color plates.  For Winter and Autumn, more of maroon and brown, or red color plates.

I would like to have a good quality of life now and also quality of food.  This is one of my ways.

2 thoughts on “food art japanese

  1. The plates are beautiful! I thing I went through the same phases as you did. In my twenties I could eat microwaved pizza each day and it didn’t bother me. Now I enjoy cooking and put a great effort in picking the right ingredients. Unfortunately, I left most of my tableware in Denmark, but I’m bringing it, piece by piece, to Dubai, as it also reminds me of home (in Denmark) 🙂

    • Hi mitziemee!! Really apologize for my late reply… as you can tell, i have been very poor at updating my blog lately. I can imagine your tableware from Denmark being amazing!! I’m also doing the same, every time I go back to Japan, I bring back bits and pieces to Singapore. Love that it reminds me of home at the dining table 🙂

Leave a Reply

